Mohammed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year – Full List Of Winners At 2017 CAF Awards

The 2017 CAF Awards took place in Accra yesterday January 4, 2018, at a beautiful ceremony hosted by Hollywood actor of Ghanaian descent, Boris Kodjoe.

 Mohammed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year

Mohammed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year

At the end of it all, Egypt and Liverpool star, Mohammed Salah got crowned the King of African football for the year 2017. He becomes the first Egyptian to win the most prestigious individual honor in African football.

He polled 625 points, against 507 from Mane whilst Aubameyang finished a distant third with 311 points.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala also won Women’s Player of the year with Patson Daka of Zambia winning the Youth Player of the year award.

The ceremony saw in attendance many dignitaries including the president of Ghana, H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Patrons were also entertained with performances by Toofan from Togo, DR Congo’s Fally Ipupa, and Nigerian septet of Patoranking, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Olamide, Phyno and Flavour.

Mohammed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year

Mohamed Salah Ghaly (Egyptian Arabicمحمد صلاح غالى‎  pronounced [mæˈħamæd sˤɑˈlɑːħ ˈɣæːli]; born 15 June 1992) is an Egyptian professional footballer who plays as a forward for Liverpool and the Egyptian national team.

Below is the full list of winners at the Awards:

African Player of the Year
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)


Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Youth Player of the Year
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Coach of the Year
Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Club of the Year
Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

Women’s National Team of the Year
South Africa

Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Platinum Award
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – President of Ghana
George Weah – President-elect of Liberia & former World, Africa and European Player of the Year

Fans’ Finest XI
 Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
Defenders: Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
Midfielders: Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord), Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly), Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
Forwards: Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

About the author


Imomotimi Elijah Victor is not a full-time blogger yet, but a blogger by heart. :) Loves to explore Pure Music And Entertainment Blog. I'm a fan of #DAVIDO And #WIZKID i don'k why i love them both, SURENAIJA to the WORLD!

Leave a Comment

/* ]]> */